St. Bernard Parish Government
  • St. Bernard Parish Officials Celebrate the Ribbon Cutting of the New Water Treatment Plant

    St. Bernard Parish officials officially dedicated the New Water Treatment Plant located on Palmisano Boulevard in Chalmette.  The facility, which cost nearly 32 Million Dollars, was funded by a Community Development Block Grant and LA FEMA Hazard Mitigation Grant. 


    On hand for the ribbon cutting were Parish President David Peralta, Councilman Ray Lauga, Office of Community Development (OCD) Executive Director Pat Forbes, Representatives from St. Bernard Chamber and representatives from Burk Kleinpeter, Inc., Project Engineers. Parish President David Peralta thanked OCD and FEMA for their partnership and funding on this important project.


About St. Bernard

  • Government and Resources: St. Bernard Parish is governed by a Parish President (executive branch) and a Council(legislative branch)stbernard1 form of government. The President and Council each serve four year terms. The Council consists of seven councilmembers. Five of the seven councilmembers serve as district councilmembers and two serve at large representing the eastern and western parts of the parish. The Council has regular council meetings twice per month. 

    Parish President (504) 278-4227
    Council Members (504) 278-4217


dave_peralta"St. Bernard Parish Government employees take pride in serving our citizens as Public Service Professionals. We support the Code of Ethics of the American Society for Public Administration."

David E. Peralta
Parish President

Guy McInnis 5-4-12 Guy McInnis
Councilman at Large East

George Cavignac 5-4-12
George Cavignac
Councilman at Large West

Ray Lauga 5-4-12
Ray Lauga
Councilman District A

Nathan Gorbaty 5-4-12
Nathan Gorbaty
Councilman District B

Richie Lewis 5-4-12
Richard J. Lewis
Councilman District C

Casey Hunnicutt 5-4-12
Casey Hunnicutt
Councilman District D

Monty Montelongo 5-4-12
Manuel "Monty" Montelongo
Councilman District E